Many so-called vegetarians may not eat meat (dead animal flesh), but they may still consume animal excreta (eggs and dairy). These vegetarians are properly called ‘ovo-lacto’ vegetarians.
“Ovo” = ‘eggs’ and “lacto” = ‘milk.’
Because of this, a new term was needed to describe true vegetarians, people who did not consume (or even wear) anything derived from an animal. People who totally abstain from consuming and eating animal flesh and byproducts (as well as abstain from wearing clothes derived from animals) are called VEGAN. A vegan denotes a strict vegetarian, whereas today, “vegetarian” is a term used very loosely in our society and all conscious vegans should know the difference between being vegan and being vegetarian.
Veganism is not a religion, but a lifestyle. It doesn’t it make a person better than another person simply by virtue of what they eat and don’t eat. What it does do is make an individual healthier and extends their life expectancy and duration
All Articles Are righted and reserved by Shalom Health Services.
You must be logged in to post a comment.